Types of Violence - - International

Istanbul Convention

29.03.2018 / Created by (EMWF)

The Council of Europe Convention on preventing and combating violence against women and domestic violence (Istanbul Convention) was opened for signature on 11 May 2011, in Istanbul, Turkey. The convention aims at prevention of violence, victim protection and "to end with the impunity of perpetrators". As of January 2018, it has been signed by 46 countries and the European Union. On 12 March 2012, Turkey became the first country to ratify the Convention, followed by twenty eight other countries from 2013 to 2017 (Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, Estonia, France, Georgia, Germany, Italy, Macedonia, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Portugal, San Marino, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland). The Convention came into force on 1 August 2014.


  • Type of publication : Legal text
  • Author : Conseil de l'Europe
  • Publishing house : Council of Europe
  • Publication date : 2011
  • Number of pages : 37
  • Language : English, French and Arabic


To write a comment, please, register and exhange with members of the Network

Register with the Foundation